Food, Glorious Food

 

So the other day my wife buys a book called “500 Things to eat before it’s too late” by Jane and Michael Stern. We like to find unique eateries and local flavors on our road trips. As we were perusing the pages and making mental notes of places to try on our next big trip, we see places in our local area to try. Much to my delight is number 12 on their list of national best hamburgers. I have been enjoying Shady Glen cheeseburgers as long as I can remember. There is just something about the way they crisp up the edges of the cheese. If you find yourself in the Manchester, CT area give them a try.

Just a few notes on the photos, the sign had the saturation bumped up a bit, a vignette added and the colorful center faded photo filter applied in PSE. The burger picture is untouched, the burger on the other hand was not so lucky.

  1. #1 by danudin on January 2, 2010 - 7:14 pm

    What a hearty set of photos, yummmmmm!

  2. #2 by Bobbie on January 2, 2010 - 7:30 pm

    Jane and Michael Stern had their start as snarky food writers for the Hartford Courant. I like the wintry evening look of the top photo–the vignette kind of highlights it the way headlights as one was drivig along at dinnertime.

  3. #3 by Julie McLeod on January 2, 2010 - 7:44 pm

    Love both of these, Al! Bobbie’s right, the mood created by your processing in the top photo makes it seem like we’re just pulling off the highway for a bite to eat before continuing on the road trip. It looks like Shady Glen has a bit of a different take on the burger – I’ve never seen cheese done like that before.

  4. #4 by Edmund on January 2, 2010 - 10:09 pm

    Hi Al, Looking at the cheeseburger makes me hungry. I have a close friend in the Hartford area and if I ever get across on the ferry I know where I’m going for lunch. I like your post processing and I think the chef took a blow torch to the cheeseburger right before serving. As you will see I love to boost the saturation up (sometimes too much)for extra rich colors.
    Eddie

  5. #5 by Clara Williams on January 2, 2010 - 10:23 pm

    Great images, Al, and I must say that that cheeseburger does look delicious. Those fries look good, too. I love the effect that the vignette has on the sign. Just looking at it makes me feel like I am hungry and turning into a restaurant on a cold, cold night.

  6. #6 by regularman on January 2, 2010 - 11:24 pm

    As delicious as that dang cheeseburger looks Al, I love the processing on your first image. Well done!

    Bill

  7. #7 by D. S. Fisher on January 3, 2010 - 7:57 am

    Wonderful images! I like the processing on the first photo, too. I also like the way the clouds seem to be pointing to the sign!

  8. #8 by Tammy McChesney on January 3, 2010 - 1:47 pm

    That cheeseburger (even w/ it’s weird cheese) looks scrumptious….I suppose weight watchers won’t approve, huh?? LOL

    Love the processing on the 1st image, good eye!

  9. #9 by dorispac on January 3, 2010 - 7:55 pm

    Wow, Al, looks like a segment from “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” on the Food Network! I love that show. I like the old fashion look of the sign outside and the food looks good too! Nice work. . . it must be hard. . .

  10. #10 by dspec01 on January 4, 2010 - 10:26 am

    Looking forward to participating with you in the Photowalk. Nice job advertising for Shady Glen. As a resident of Connecticut I will need to check it out the next time I am up that way.

Leave a comment