Let the fun begin

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

Although I have not read any of Henry Miller’s works, I feel that the above quote sums up the objective of this blog for 2010. In the coming year I hope to entertain you with my views of this great big world of ours. There will be days when I only post a photo and others may contain an attempt at creative writing, nuggets of knowledge, and a quote I found some meaning in that particular day.

I feel a door was the best way to kick things off this year as we never know what’s on the other side till we open it. So I ask you, my friend, put on your virtual coat and hat and follow me through the door on my photo walk.

  1. #1 by regularman on January 1, 2010 - 12:22 am

    Beautiful image to start your year Al … keep them coming. Happy New Year and best wishes for lots of fun with the Virtual Photowalk.

    Bill

  2. #2 by danudin on January 1, 2010 - 1:28 am

    It has and don’t forget the words of T.E. Lawrence:
    “No Prisoners – No Prisoners!”

  3. #3 by Esther Farnstrom on January 1, 2010 - 1:31 am

    A great start to 2010…

  4. #4 by Julie on January 1, 2010 - 7:26 am

    Al, I love your opening photo. Doors (and windows) are some of my favorite subjects and you’ve captured this one beautifully. I’m sitting here admiring the lovely light and the nicely saturated colors. I shall gladly follow you through the door of your virtual photowalk and I bet it will be a pleasure…

  5. #5 by D. S. Fisher on January 1, 2010 - 8:16 am

    A lovely door with lots of great detail, I do love wood doors with iron work.

  6. #6 by Sheila on January 1, 2010 - 9:27 am

    Al –
    First off I think the image is warm and inviting and second I think your choice for the first photo of the year is excellent! May we all be able to open new doors with our photography and friendships this year. For Ed (my husband) and I this is also a new beginning of our marriage as it is our 13th Anniversary today!
    Happy New Year!
    Sheila

  7. #7 by Tammy McChesney on January 1, 2010 - 11:39 am

    What a great start to 2010, thanks for inviting us into your photowalk…(and so beautifully too)!

  8. #8 by Bobbie on January 1, 2010 - 12:41 pm

    A door is a perfect photo to represent this new beginning. The wreath symbolizes welcome, and something about the massive wood and the stone suggests adventure.

  9. #9 by dorispac on January 1, 2010 - 12:54 pm

    Love the color, depth and the invitation of this photo, Al! Happy New Year. I look forward to taking this walk with you and all in our group of intrepid and brave souls! 🙂

  10. #10 by Marie B on January 1, 2010 - 4:57 pm

    I’ll join you on your walk Al. You have a beautiful way of seeing things.

  11. #11 by Clara Williams on January 1, 2010 - 8:53 pm

    Great image, Al. I love how the rock wall in the foreground leads back to the door. I love the wrought iron on that door, also. Looking forward to blogging with you this year.

  12. #12 by Terri on January 1, 2010 - 10:47 pm

    I love door and it is quite inviting. I especially like the hardware of the door. Much like pitchforks.

    • #13 by alwilliamsct on January 1, 2010 - 10:49 pm

      Funny thing is it’s a door at a local church.

  13. #14 by Julie on January 2, 2010 - 9:06 am

    Al,

    I wanted to let you know that I decided to change blogs for the 2010 Photowalk. I’m now at:

    http://playingwithpixels.wordpress.com/

    Julie

  14. #15 by Pat B on January 2, 2010 - 6:54 pm

    Well, you drew me right in to following your blog with those Henry Miller words of wisdom… so inspirational along with the connection to the door. Really enjoyed this post, thank you!

    p.s. so much so I just might copy you with this quote on my own site, I’ve been looking for something inspirational I could connect with. Might also be interesting to see what else he has to say. 🙂

  15. #16 by Christina, Sweden on January 2, 2010 - 9:02 pm

    What a great old door!
    I will most certainkly follow you through that one on this years journey 🙂

  16. #17 by Edmund on January 2, 2010 - 10:27 pm

    Al, This is a good one and nicely done. You have stated your 2010 journey so eloquently. I’m a retired Engineer and struggle with writing. Of course I will join you on this years walk.

  17. #18 by Madelaine on January 2, 2010 - 11:21 pm

    Hi Al, Thanks for inviting me along. Those are very beautiful doors you chose for us to walk through. Wonderful shot!

  18. #19 by boomer3297 on January 3, 2010 - 10:15 am

    Thanks for the invite, I’m sure your posts will be interesting to read and look at! HDR on that door?

    • #20 by alwilliamsct on January 3, 2010 - 11:53 am

      no HDR, may have benefitted from a slight warming filter in post but not too bad. That whole church might make a neat HDR shot though. Might do that in the spring.

  19. #21 by dspec01 on January 4, 2010 - 10:22 am

    I love the door. It’s a nice way to start things off!

Leave a comment